A+ a-

Euro banknotes and coins


There are 7 denominations of euro banknotes and 8 denominations of euro coins in circulation in members states of the euro area.


Euro banknotes:
- Available denominations: 5, 10, 20, 50, 100, 200 and 500.
- Each banknote has a different color and size.
- The higher the value of the banknote, the larger it is in size.
- Windows and gateways on the obverse (front side) of banknotes symbolize the spirit of openness; bridges on the reverse (back side) symbolize cooperation between the European nations as well as between Europe and the rest of the world.


Euro coins:
- Available denominations: 1, 2, 5, 10, 20, 50 euro cents and 1 and 2 euro (1 euro equals to 100 cents).
- Coins vary in size, weight, shape and composition of metal.
- Coins with higher denomination, i.e. 1 and 2 euro, are of two colors (silver and yellow); coins with medium denomination, i.e. 10, 20 and 50 euro cents, are yellow; coins with low denomination, i.e. 1, 2 and 5 euro cents, are copper-colored.
- Euro coins have a common side and national side characteristic of each member state. The common side has the same design and symbolizes the idea of a common Europe, while the national side differs depending on the state.
- Even though one of the sides is different, all euro coins are valid throughout the euro area.


Circulation coins issued in Lithuania have three images with the Lithuanian state emblem Vytis created by sculptor Antanas Žukauskas. The Vytis is surrounded by 12 stars: on 1 and 2 euro coins, against the background of vertical lines; 10, 20 and 50 euro cent coins, against the background of horizontal lines; 1, 2 and 5 euro cent coins, against a plain background.


For more information see:
Take a Look at Euro Coins
Take a Look at Euro Banknotes
Is the Euro Authentic (Security Marks)?
Video about the Security Marks of Euro Cash
Or visit website of the European Central Bank

Contact Us

Send Text Message

Send link to Friend

Send Text Message